Barton women crowned indoor champions for 18th time



Pittsburg, KS - Barton (KS) captures the 2019 NJCAA Women's Indoor Track & Field Championship, accumulating 119 points over the two-day championship held at the Robert W. Plaster Center. This marks the 18th indoor track and field title for the Cougars.  

After a strong second day, Barton rose to number one topping New Mexico, South Plains (TX), Monroe College (NY), and Iowa Central in the top five respectively.  The Cougars placed three individuals and one relay team at the top of the podium. 

  • Debroah Giffard won the 60-meter dash for the Cougars with a time of 7.37. 
  • Barton's six-event athlete Aquila St. Louis picked up a win in the pentathlon 60-meter hurdles.  St. Louis also medaled in the pentathlon long jump, finishing third with 5.32-meters.
  • Freshman T'Nia Riley took home two titles for the Cougars.  Riley won the 200-meter race with a time of 23.91.  Riley's second title came with Barton's 4x400 relay team.  Barton's 4x400 relay team took the top of the podium with a time of 3:44.65. 
  • New Mexico took scond place in the event with 103 points.  The Thunderbirds shined in the field events, taking title in the 60-meter hurdles, long jump, pentathlon long jump, pole vault, and shot put. 
  • Demisha Roswell brought home the title for the Thunderbirds in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.39. 
  • New Mexico's Monique Grant's 5.86-meter performance in the pentathlon long jump solified the title for the freshman.
  • Now a two-time first-team NJCAA All-American, Central Arizona's Cherisse Murray set a new national record in the shot put with a mark of 16.30 meters.
  • South Place took third in the two-day event.  The Texan's lone event win came in the mile, as freshamn Dorcus Ewoi won with a time of 5:03.16
  • Monroe College's distance runners led the way for the Mustangs taking first in the 800-meter, 1000-meter, distance medely, 4x800 relay. 
  • This is Barton's first indoor track and field title in thirteen years.  The Courgars won the indoor track and field championship for nine consecutive years from 1998-2006.  


NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?