Women's Swimming & Diving

Indian River State secures 37th straight title


Buffalo, NY - Winning 24 of the 25 individual and team titles, the Indian River (FL) women's swimming and diving team won their 37th consecutive NJCAA Women's Swimming and Diving National Championship in dominant style.  The Indian River women posted a meet-best 1,277 points in route to capturing their 41st overall program title. 

The Indian River men's program also took home the championship in the four-day event, securing their 45th consecutive title.  The Pioneer women topped South Georgia State, Iowa Central, Southwestern Oregon, and Barton, who rounded out the top five respectively.  

Indian River continued their NJCAA swimming and diving dynasty throughout the championship meet.  Sophomore Elianna Kennon captured two individual events and was a member of two relay titles.  Freshman Savanna Best posted an NJCAA record for the Pioneers with in the 50-yard breastroke with a time of 28.77. 

Seven different swimmers took home individual titles for the Pioneers.  Kennon claimed a pair of titles in the 50-yard freestyle and the 100-yard IM.  Best's two individual titles came in the 50-yard breaststroke and the 200-yard IM.  The other five Indian River women to capture titles were Charlise Oberholzer, Gabby Tolento, Sule Van Der Merwe, Sophia Diagne, and Camryn Wheals. 

  • Kennon also claimed a pair of team titles in the 200-yard freestyle relay and the 400-yard medley relay.
  • Oberholzer claimed the 1000-yard freestyle with a time of 10:22.47. 
  • Tolento posted a score of 469.10 to capture the women's 1-meter diving competition.
  • Van Der Merwe claimed the 400-yard IM title, as well as a 800-yard freestyle relay title. 
  • Diagne took home the 400-yard butterfly championship for the Pioneers with a time of 54.73.
  • In addition to being a part of Indian River's 800-yard and 200-yard freestyle relay teams, Wheals took home the 200-yard freestyle title with a time of 1:52.92. 
  • The Pioneers' Emma Colvin made her mark on the championship by winning the 50-yard butterfly with a time of 25.10 and four team relay events.  
  • Barton's McKayla Siemiller captured the 50-meter breaststroke with a time of 26.59. 
  • Indian River's Best was named Women's Swimmer of the Year, while Gabby Tolento was honored as the Women's Diver of the Year.
  • Erie's Haley Roblee was named the Women's Swimming and Diving Non-Scholarship Athlete of the Year. 

NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?