NEO claims national championship


COUNCIL BLUFFS, IOWA – Northeastern Oklahoma A&M ran away with the 2018 NJCAA Wrestling Championship finishing with 147.5 points for its third wrestling national championship in program history.  The Golden Norsemen finished 23 points ahead of second place Clackamas (OR).

Going into the final day of competition, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M led last year's champion Iowa Central by 12.5 points with a 99-86.5 advantage. NEO finished with six wrestlers who finished in the top five of their weight class, Brian Andrews (285), Alex Kaufmann (184), Devin Crawl (174), Wyatt Jordan (165), Kendon Lee (149) and Boo Dryden (125).

  • Dryden tallied the Bruce Traphagen Award for Most Falls of the championship.
  • Iowa Central's Todd Small claimed an individual national title for the second year after moving up a weight class from 125 to 133.
  • Western Wyoming saw two individuals garner individual accolades with Wade French (197) and Kenny Astle (149) winning each weight-class. Astle was also named the Ernest B. Gould Award for Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament.
  • Highline (WA) earned Academic Team of the Year, while Paul Schmidt of Nassau (NY) was named Non-Scholarship Coach of the Year.