Tyler dominates Men's Tennis championship to earn 12th DI title


PLANO, Texas – Claiming victory in six flights, Tyler Junior College won their 12th NJCAA Division I Men’s Tennis national championship Friday at Collin County Community College. Totaling 47 points for the tournament, the Apaches beat out second place ASA College (N.Y.) who finished with 35.5 points.

Tyler won singles championships in the top four flights while ASA and Georgia Perimeter College each won one. In No. 1 singles, Apaches sophomore Adrien Berkowicz (right) cruised to a 6-2, 6-1 win over Scottsdale CC (Ariz.) freshman Mousa Zayad. After a slow start, freshman James Martell notched another victory for Tyler in No. 2 singles with a 4-6, 6-2, 6-0 win over freshman Filip Burnac from Scottsdale. Tyler freshman Ryan Hudelson defeated Collin County freshman Oscar von Koch 6-3, 6-3 in No. 3 singles, while Apaches sophomore Mitchell Martell took No. 4 singles with a 6-2, 6-0 victory against freshman Christian Waldron from ASA.

Despite the loss, the ASA Avengers saw sophomore Pavel Zhdanov defeat Scottsdale sophomore Dave Pollack 4-6, 6-3, 6-0 for the No. 5 singles crown. In No. 6 singles, Georgia Perimeter sophomore Gelawdiyos Haile posted a 6-3, 6-3 victory over Tyler sophomore George Rivers.

In No. 1 doubles, Collin County sophomores Patrick Clynes and Donovan McSeveney fought back to defeat Vincennes sophomore Erick Bermudez and freshman Warren Kuhn – 4-6, 6-3, 6-4. Tyler won the remaining flights with Berkowicz and Hudelson taking a No. 2 doubles 6-3, 6-0 win against Laredo CC (Texas) Derbani and Ramirez, while freshman Dillon Eizember and Rivers had a 6-3, 6-3 victory over ASA sophomore Nail Khabiyev and Zhdanov in No. 3 doubles.

Collin County walked away with 34 points and a third place finish, while Scottsdale took fourth with 30.5 points. Rounding out the top five with 27 points was defending national champion Laredo.

Returning to the Lone Star State with their 12th DI trophy, the Apaches now have 15 national championships after winning three straight DII titles from 2002 to 2004. Tyler now has more men’s tennis championships than any other NJCAA program – followed by Laredo’s seven.

NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?