College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

LSU Eunice claims DII Softball title with back-to-back wins over Jones
 May 17, 2014

Championship HomeBox ScoreNJCAA TV Replay

CLINTON, Miss. – With two comeback victories over Jones County (Miss.) Saturday, LSU Eunice won their second straight NJCAA DII Softball national championship. In the final game of the day, the Bengals clinched the title with an 8-6 victory.

Offensively, sophomore first baseman Brooklyn Clark led the way for LSU Eunice with three hits and an RBI. Clark was named the tournament’s MVP after going 11-for-22 from the plate with two doubles and five RBIs.

LSU Eunice trailed the Bobcats 6-0 before mounting their comeback with 8 runs in the sixth inning. Bengals sophomore third baseman Carey Alexis got the rally started by drawing a bases loaded walk to put LSU Eunice on the board. Freshman designated hitter Danielle Cruickshank followed with a two-run double which scores two more runs for the Bengals. An overthrow on the play sent Alexis home – trimming the deficit to 6-4 – as Cruickshank advanced to third.

Later in the inning, LSU Eunice tied the game with two more runs off a fielding error by Jones County. A wild pitch by the Bobcats brought in sophomore center fielder Codi Covington to give the Bengals a 7-6 lead. Clark then added an insurance run for LSU Eunice with a base hit to center.

The Marucci Elite Hitter award was presented to Bengals sophomore right fielder Emily Nolan who went 8-for-19 with four home runs, a double and 15 RBIs during the tournament. Covington, Alexis, freshman second baseman Taylor Boulet and freshman pitcher Raven Cole were among the LSU Eunice players selected to the all-tournament team.

Trailing 1-0 in the first game of the championship round, the Bengals scored five runs in the fifth inning to seal a 5-1 victory.

With back-to-back national championships under their belt, LSU Eunice has now won three of the last four DII softball crowns and is the only program other than Phoenix (Ariz.) to win multiple DII championships.

Photos courtesy of Nicholas Phillips/LSU Eunice Athletics

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy