Merit Award

The Merit Award is given to a former NJCAA student-athlete that have distinguished themselves and are recognized nationally for their achievements in their profession. 


Merit Award Recipients 

   Year Name College; Sport Profession
2018-19 Sheryl Swoopes South Plains (Texas); Women's Basketball WNBA, Olympic Gold Medalist
2017-18 Ryan Ciminelli Erie (N.Y.); Bowling PBA Bowler
2015-16 Kwamie Lassiter Butler (Kan.); Football Non-Profit Youth Development
  Ross Pesek Central (Neb.); Men's Basketball Immigration Attorney
2013-14 Masai Ujiri Bismarck State (N.D.); Men's Basketball NBA General Manager
2012-13 Wellington Webb Northeastern (Colo.); Men's Basketball  Mayor of Denver (Colo.) 
2006-07 Gerald Bender Wilbur Wright (Ill.);  Attorney, Federal Judge
2004-05 Deion Branch Jones County (Miss.); Football Two-time NFL Super Bowl Champion
1996-97 Larry Keenum Calhoun (Miss.); Baseball Athletic Director, Athens State (Ala.)
1994-95 Bob Bullock  Hill (Texas); Football  Lt. Governor of Texas 
1990-91  Marti Lea Griffith Hobbs Jefferson State (Ala.); Women's Gymnastics Gymnastics Official
  Gary Morris Cisco (Texas); Football Country Music Artist
  Reagan Turner Ragsdale Jefferson State (Ala.); Men's Tennis Tennis Coach, Player, Instructor
1989-90 Pete Babock Sauk Valley (Ill.); Men's Basketball NBA General Manager, Executive 

NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?