2017 Women's Soccer Hall of Fame class announced

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. –The 2017 NJCAA Women's Soccer Coaches Association Hall of Fame inductees were anonouncd on Monday afternoon. This year's class features multiple championships, records, All-American honors, and many more feats across four coaches and four players.

Joseph Bartlinski

Coach – Brevard College (NC)

With 29 years of coaching experience and more than 460 career wins, including 167 at the NJCAA level, Joseph Bartlinski of Brevard has made his mark across the women's soccer world. A two-time National Soccer Coaches of America (NSCAA) Coach of the Year, Bartlinski won back-to-back national championships in 1996 and 1997 with Brevard. Along with the national accolade, Bartlinski also guided the Lady Tornados to 68 consecutive wins while setting NJCAA records of single season goals (201) and fewest goals allowed in a season (three).

Off the field, Bartlinski served as the NJCAA Women's Soccer President from 1995-98, the vice president from 1993-94, and the national secretary from 1991-92.

Bartlinski, who obtained his bachelor's degree from the University of North Carolina Asheville is currently the head coach at the University of West Florida where his .838 winning percentage in 16 seasons ranks seventh all-time at the NCAA level.

Bartlinski and his wife Colleen have two daughters, Christina McKenzie and Jordan Marie.  

Tracey Britton

Coach – Monroe Community College

A three-time NSCAA Coach of the Year, Tracey Britton guided Monroe Community College (NY) to a dominant run over the course of 15 years as both an assistant and head coach. As a head coach, Britton amassed a record of 171-12-9 (.914), including three national championships in 2001, 2004, and 2005. Along with the three titles, Britton led the Tribunes to three runners-up finishes in 1999, 2000, and 2002. During Britton's tutelage, more than 20 student-athletes received All-American status, including two national players of the year.

Britton received the inaugural Murph Shapiro Excellence in Coach Award presented to the Monroe coach whose team has excelled on the field, in the classroom, and demonstrates commitment to the community. Britton was inducted into the Monroe Hall of Fame and received the NSCAA's Charlie Lee NISOA Merit Award for significant contributions to NJCAA women's soccer.

A graduate of William Smith College (NY), Britton was selected to receive the Jon Hinton Hurd '65 Lifetime Athletic Achievement Award after a standout four-year career for the Heron's where she won a national championship.

Following her tenure at Monroe, Britton served as an assistant coach with St. John Fisher College.

Dennis Grassini

Coach – Community College of Rhode Island

A longstanding figure on the NJCAA Women's Soccer scene, Dennis Grassini of Rhode Island totaled 226 wins in his coaching career that included the 2002 national championship with an undefeated record.  Along with the title, Grassini was named the National Coach of the Year.

Grassini also led the Knights to two NJCAA runners-up finishes and 15 consecutive Region 21 championships. During his tenure, the Knights boasted 32 All-Americans, 61 NSCAA All-North Region players, and 107 All-New England Region 21 players.

Grassini's success on the field complimented his contributions to junior college women's soccer where he was appointed as the NSCAA National Chairperson in 2013. Grassini coordinated all regions in both DI and DIII women's soccer.

With 23 years of service to the NJCAA, Grassini served on the coach of the year and All-American committees.


Jeffrey Karl

Coach – St. Louis Community College- Meramec (MO)

Concluding his career as the NJCA Women's Soccer all-time wins leader, Jeffrey Karl guided St. Louis- Meramec (MO) to one of the most successful runs in soccer history. Over the course of his 28 years, Karl won two national championships and boasted a 330-137-36 record with 22 consecutive winning seasons.

Meramec won national titles in 1991 and 1992 as part of a 35-match winning streak. During his time at Meramec, Karl accumulated nine NJCAA tournament top-10 finishes, 16 regional titles, and 38 All-Americans. Karl was named the NJCAA Coach of the Year in both 1991 and 1992.

Karl's induction into the NJCAA Hall of Fame adds on to his induction into the St. Louis Soccer Hall of Fame (2005) and the Region XVI Hall of Fame (2012).

Karl wrapped up his stellar career at Meramec in 2012.


Angie Bode

Player – Lewis & Clark Community College (IL)

Capping her career with the 1999 NJCAA Women's Soccer championship, Angie Bode enters the NJCAA Hall of Fame as one of the most decorated players in history. A two-time All-American, Bode guided Lewis & Clark (IL) for two years before moving on to Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.

During her two-year career from 1998-99, Bode tallied 165 career points (62 goals, 41 assists) to earn NJCAA First Team All-American honors in each season. Bode was also a two-time NSCAA All-American and a two-time Region XXIV MVP. For her efforts in the 1999 national championship, Bode was named the tournament MVP and the National Player of the Year.

In November 2000, Bode was named to the NJCAA Women's Soccer All-Century team for her standout career.



Melissa Hornfeck

Player – Monroe Community College (NY)

Joining her former coach in the NJCAA Women's Soccer Hall of Fame, Melissa Hornfeck of Monroe Community College (NY) won back-to-back NJCAA national championships in 2004 and 2005. Hornfeck was named Region III Player of the Year in each season and became the first female to earn back-to-back NSCAA National Player of the Year honors.

Hornfeck and the Tribunes posted an astonishing 43-2-1 record during her tenure. Hornfeck registered 57 goals and 22 assists for a total of 136 points before moving on to the University of Maryland where she majored in Family Studies.





Katie Leahy Major

Player – Community College of Rhode Island

Katie Leahy Major's induction to the NJCAA Women's Soccer Hall of Fame is highlighted by the 2002 national championship with Rhode Island where she was tournament offensive MVP. Major was also named the tournament offensive MVP in 2003 when the Knights finished as runners-up.

Major ranked in the top-five each year in scoring for the Knights where she was the 2002 NJCAA goal and point champion. For her efforts, Major was a NJCAA and NSCAA First Team All-American each season and was the 2002 recipient of the Mary O'Neil Award and the Board of Governor's Scholar Athlete Award.

Following her stellar career at Rhode Island, Major received a full scholarship to play soccer at Arizona State University.



Joy Nsubuga

Coach -- Brevard College (NC)

The 1998 NJCAA Player of the Year, Joy Nsubuga joins her former coach Joseph Bartlinski in the 2017 Hall of Fame induction class. A two-year standout for Brevard, Nsubuga helped guide Brevard to the 1997 national championship.

Nsubuga was a two-time NJCAA All-American and team captain before moving on to Virginia Tech University where she majored in Health and Physical Education.




NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?