South Plains edges Barton for NJCAA indoor title


Lubbock, TX – With a pair of individual titles on the weekend, South Plains (TX) took home the 2018 NJCAA Indoor Men’s Track and Field Championship. The Texans totaled 94 points to edge second-place Barton (KS).

The title is the sixth in program history for the Texans and the first since 2015. South Plains snapped Iowa Centrals two-year run as national champions. Both Iowa Central and South Plains have combined to win 10 of the last 12 titles, including each of the last eight years.

South Plains was led by freshman Holland Martin who finished fourth overall in individual scoring with 16 points. The Texans posted 12 top-five finishes on the weekend, including Martin’s individual title in the men’s triple jump.

  • South Plains finished second in the 4x400 meter relay and third in the 4x800 meter relay.
  • William Watson and Mason Weh finished second and third, respectively in the 60-meter hurdles for South Plains.
  • Hinds freshman Milton Harrell set an NJCAA record in the high jump after clearing a height of 2.20 meters, topping Damar Richardson’s 2.17 mark from 2015.
  • Barton, who holds a record 10 indoor national titles, finished second after claiming four individual titles- 60-meter dash, 60-meter hurdles, long jump, and shot put.
  • Hinds (MS), Western Texas, Meridian (MS), Trinidad State (CO), and Cloud County
  • Cloud County (KS), Hinds (MS), Meridian (MS), Trinidad State (CO), and Western Texas all claimed two individual titles.
  • Trinidad’s Derek Holdsworth topped the individual scorers with 22 points after winning the mile event and the 800-meter run.
  • Garden City’s (KS) sophomore Denim Rogers was the winner of the heptathlon event after setting a NJCAA record with a score of 5,465.
  • Sean Bailey of Western Texas sprinted to the 400-meter dash championship for the second-straight year with a time of 46.08.
  • Meridian, anchored by three freshman, claimed its third-straigh title in the men's 4x800 champion which included last year's member Micah Britton.
  • Sanjae Lawrence of Barton repeated as the men's shot put champion to earn first team All-America honors once again.
  • Iowa Central claimed the individual weight throw championship for the third year in a row as sophomore Travis Peterson took the title.
  • Kyle Downey gave Mesa (AZ) its second consecutive individual pole vault champion after clearing 4.95m.

NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?