Tyler reclaims DI men's tennis national title


Plano, TX – With eight of the nine championship flights secured, Tyler (TX) claimed the 2018 NJCAA DI Men’s Tennis National Championship. The title is the Apaches’ 16th tennis title and 10th DI championship in program history.

The Apaches totaled 53 points to upend ASA Miami (FL), the two-time defending national champions by 10 points. Tyler boasted all but one championship flight as ASA Miami captured the No. 5 Singles Flight. Seward County (KS) provided a strong showing with three runners-up finishes to finish in third place overall with 38 points.

  • Marcus Walters, the top overall seed in both the No. 1 Singles and No. 1 Doubles Flight captured two championships for Tyler.
  • Walters’ teammate Alex Parker earned a championship victory in the No. 2 Singles Flight and helped Walters to the No. 1 Doubles Flight title.
  • Kentaro Mizushima captured the No. 5 Singles Flight championship for the second consecutive year after edging Tyler’s Drew Brown 6-3, 6-1.
  • Tyler’s Alejandro Hayen won both championship matches at No. 4 Singles and No. 2 Doubles, one year after earning second team All-America honors for the Apaches.
  • Cowley (KS) and Seminole State (OK) rounded out the top five team scoring with 27 and 25.5 points, respectively at the Collin College Tennis Facility.
  • Tyler's Dash Connell, who also led Tyler to the 2018 NJCAA DI Women's National Title, was also named the Max Grubbs Coach of the Year.

NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?