College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

Onondaga wins 6th straight Men's LAX championship; 87-0 since 2010
 May 11, 2014

Tournament MVP Vaughn Harris (#28) advances the Onondaga offense against Nassau in the NJCAA Men's Lacrosse Championghip Game on Sunday. Photo by Taylor Lamacchia.


GARDEN CITY, N.Y. – Onondaga (N.Y.) clinched its sixth straight NJCAA Championship in men’s lacrosse on Sunday with a 12-7 victory over long-time rival Nassau (N.Y.) on the Lions’ home turf in Garden City. The national title is the eighth in nine years for OCC.

Onondaga is the first NJCAA men’s lacrosse program to hoist the national championship trophy six straight times since Nassau won seven consecutive titles from 1970-76.

After leading 5-3 at the half, Onondaga held a mere 8-6 lead in the third quarter before embarking on a 4-0 scoring run to put the game out of reach.

Nicholas Garbarino had a game-high five goals to lead Onondaga, who never trailed in the contest. Tournament MVP Vaughn Harris along Tim Barber and Parris Young all had two goals apiece. Barber was also credited with three assists in the title game while Harris had an assist to go with his four-goal, two-assist performance in OCC’s 19-4 semifinal victory over Anne Arundel (Md.).

Warren Hill led the Lazer defense in front of the net with 17 saves.

In addition to winning its sixth-consecutive national championship, Onondaga ended the 2014 season with a 17-0 record – its fourth ‘perfect’ season in a row and extended its active game-winning streak to 87 games dating back to 2010.  

Nassau, the national runner-up for the third-consecutive year, ends its season with a 14-2 overall record.  

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy