College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

Monroe CC women defend Lacrosse title with 11-8 win over Onondaga
 May 11, 2014

Championship Home – Box Score – Photos – Watch Replay

ARNOLD, Md. – Capping off back-to-back perfect seasons, Monroe CC secured their second consecutive NJCAA Women’s Lacrosse championship Sunday with an 11-8 victory over Onondaga (N.Y.).

The Tribunes have now won consecutive NJCAA titles for the second time in program history – claiming four of the last five championships. Finishing 2014 with a 17-0 record, Monroe extended their winning streak to 35 games with their last defeat coming at the hands of Onondaga in the 2012 championship game.

Midfielder Melanie Murphy (above) led the way offensively for the Tribunes, earning Most Outstanding Offensive Player honors. The sophomore recorded a game-high four goals and assist. Monroe sophomore midfielder Molly Gray and freshman attacker Michelle Schwartz each posted three goals, while freshman attacker Michaela Ciciarelli scored one.

Onondaga was first on the board with an unassisted goal by sophomore center Jenna Battaglini less than two minutes in. After going down early, the Tribunes tied the game and swiftly took a 3-1 lead behind three goals – two from Gray and one from Schwartz.

The Lazers responded with three quick goals of their own – two by freshman forward Makenzie Annable – to go back up 4-3. After assisting Schwartz to tie the game at 4-4, Gray scored a goal with 13 seconds left before the half to put Monroe on top 5-4 heading into the break.

Coming out of the gates firing in the second half, Murphy scored two of the Tribunes four goals in the 10 minutes to give Monroe a commanding 9-4 advantage. Onondaga trimmed the deficit to 9-7 with just under 11 to go but Murphy put in two more goals down the stretch as the Tribunes finished off the 11-8 victory.

Tribunes sophomore goalie Caitlin Cavallaro was named Most Outstanding Defensive Player and tallied four saves in the title game. Gray, Schwartz and Monroe freshman defender Jamie Wallace were named to the All-Tournament team.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy