College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

Texans take team title, Lady Texans second at SPC Invitational
 October 6, 2013

LEVELLAND – The NJCAA third-ranked South Plains College Texans put four runners in the top-10 Saturday morning during their home meet at Brashear Lake Park, scoring 28 points to best second place Eastern New Mexico University and take the team title.

For the third time this season, freshman Antibahs Kibiwott led the way for the Texans.  Kibiwott held his own for much of the race against eventual champion Isaiah Samoei before fading to fourth in the late stages of the race.  Kibiwott was resilient, however, making a late charge to finish third with a time of 25 minutes, 5.55 seconds over the 8,000-meter course.

Jose Martinez followed Kibiwott with a fifth place finish in 25:20.72 and Colton Hollis was eighth in 25:36.93.  Cordaryl Whitehead (26:19.51) was 10th and Michael Waller (26:39.01) rounded out the Texan team scoring at 11th.

The Lady Texans finished second in the team competition with 47 points and were paced by sophomore Desreen Montague.

Montague ran her best race of the season, covering the 5,000-meter course in 18:41.08 to finish second overall.  Freshman J’Cee Holmes finished 10th in a season best time of 19:38.96.

Atara Segree (20:10.10) and Maddie Kauffman (20:11.45) were 14th and 15th overall and Brittany Letts (20:23.58) was the final scoring competitor for the Lady Texans, finishing 18th.

The SPC Cross Country Invitational marks the halfway point as the Texans and Lady Texans have now run four of their eight competitions.  Next up will be the New Mexico JC Open on Saturday, October 12 in Hobbs, N.M.  The women’s 5,000-meter run will begin at 10 a.m. (MST) and will be followed by a men’s 8,000-meter run at 10:45 a.m. (MST).

Texans | 1st | 28 points
3rd Antibahs Kibiwott 25:05.55
5th Jose Martinez  25:20.72
8th Colton Hollis  25:36.93
10th Cordaryl Whitehead 26:19.51
11th Michael Waller 26:39.01
12th Isaac Clark  26:50.48
15th Jacob Clark  27:08.74
17th Kennedy Chumba 27:31.91
19th Marco Arias  27:34.86
21st Anderson Charles 27:44.07
25th Chenier Gardner 28:06.34
29th Darrell Truitt  29:00.54

Lady Texans | 2nd | 47 points
2nd Desreen Montague 18:41.08
10th J’Cee Holmes  19:38.96
14th Atara Segree  20:10.10
15th Maddie Kauffman 20:11.45
18th Brittany Letts  20:23.58
20th Kaitlyn Henderson 20:31.10
26th Mariah Martinez 21:27.18
32nd Sarah Peterson 22:05.38

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy