College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

Johnson County's Ben Conrad finalist for National Coach of the Year
 April 2, 2013

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Johnson County Community College women’s head coach Ben Conrad is one eight coaches selected as finalists for the 2013 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Junior/Community College National Coach of the Year award.

They are:
• Kate Lynch, Community College of Rhode Island
• Brett Vena, Louisburg College
• Misty Opat, Rock Valley College
• Cindy Stein, Illinois Central College
• Karen Wiley, Kishwaukee College
• Ben Conrad, Johnson County Community College
• Jeff Allen, Collin County Community College
• Greg Franklin, Chipola College.

The 2013 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Junior/Community College Coach of the Year will be named during the third annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 8, in New Orleans. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.

RUSSELL ATHLETIC and the WBCA present the national coach of the year award annually in each of the five WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions I, II and III; NAIA; junior/community college and high school). This is the 31st year since 1983 that the WBCA has presented this honor to a junior/community college head coach.

Earlier this year, Conrad was named the East Jayhawk Conference Coach of the Year for the 2012-13 season. It is his third Coach of the Year honor in four years.

Through eight seasons as a community college head coach Ben Conrad has averaged over 26 wins per season and has amassed an overall record of 214-55 (.780). Amazingly, in five of those eight seasons, Conrad has managed to break or tie that school’s record for wins in a season, twice with Des Moines Area and three times at JCCC. He has coached 12 All-Americans, and 29 All-Region selections in his eight seasons at the community college level, and 10 All-Americans, two National All-Tournament selections, 19 All-Region VI performers and 12 All-East Jayhawk Conference picks in five years at JCCC, including the first conference MVP awarded in school history in DaShawn Harden in 2012-13.

In the 2012-13, Conrad led his team to its fourth straight 30-win campaign (30-2) and the team’s .938 winning percentage set a new school record. He joins former Seward County legend Jim Littell, now the head coach at Oklahoma State, as the only two Jayhawk
Conference coaches with four consecutive 30-win seasons. JCCC has compiled a 124-15 mark over that span (.892). Another 30-win season in 2013-14 would place Conrad on top of that list.

During his reign at Johnson County, Conrads’s teams are also staple in the top 10 NJCAA?D-II rankings, and for the third straight season his Lady Cavaliers ended the regular season as the nation’s top ranked team. In the past four years, JCCC?has been ranked in the top 10 in 56 straight polls, ranked in the top five team in 51 polls and the No. 1 team 24 times, including 11 consecutive polls in 2011-12.

“Our last four years have been really special, “Conrad said. “We’ve been very fortunate to have a lot of real good players who have committed to our system and really bought in. Our assistant coaches, managers, and scout team guys have also played huge roles in our success. It’s really taken a tremendous effort from everyone. We can be proud of what we’ve done.”

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy