College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

Cowley County, Parkland to square off for DII national title, low seeds remain alive on final day
 November 22, 2013

The nation's top two ranked teams will square off for the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) D-II national championship tomorrow night at Owens Community College in Toledo, Ohio.

No. 1 Cowley County (KS) Community College defeated No. 4 Oakland Community College 22-25, 26-24, 25-9, 25-15 in the first semifinal, while No. 2 Parkland College (IL) defeated No. 3 Johnson County Community College 25-22, 25-19, 20-25, 25-21 in the second semifinal.

Cowley County (34-4) has now won 13 straight matches, while Parkland (52-2) has won 39 straight matches. The two will meet at 6:30 p.m. tomorrow night in the Student Health and Activities Center (SHAC) on the campus of Owens Community College.

Cowley County will be making their third straight appearance in the national title game. They defeated Oakland Community College in the 2011 national title game before falling to Grand Rapids Community College last year. Meanwhile, Parkland suffered a tough, five-set loss to Grand Rapids in last year's semifinals and they look to fully rebound from that tomorrow night.

In other action on Friday, lower seeds reigned supreme and will fight for placement tomorrow. 

At 12 p.m. No. 15 seed Moraine Valley Community College will take on No. 8 Monroe College in the ninth/tenth place match, while No. 11 Des Moines Area Community College will take on No. 9 Central Community College - Columbus will battle for seventh/eighth place.

At 2:30 p.m. No. 10 Grand Rapids Community College, the defending national champion, will take on No. 12 Southwestern Community College in the fifth/sixth place match.

At 4:30 p.m., No. 3 Johnson County will take on No. 4 Oakland in the third/fourth place match.

To see a complete schedule of the tournament so far, and for a full schedule of tomorrow's action, visit the link here

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy