College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

Last Second FG Lifts Garden City Past Copiah-Lincoln in Mississippi Bowl
 December 2, 2012

By Bill Snyder (Mississippi Gulf Coast CC Sports Information Director)

BILOXI, MIss. - Heading into Mississippi Bowl V, Garden City's Tyler Peterson was only 1-for-3 in field goals in 2012. However, the Broncbuster freshman made his fifth attempt of the season, his best as he connected on a 32-yard field goal with four seconds left to lift Garden City past No. 7 Copiah-Lincoln 31-29 in the fifth annual event.

The Broncbusters (7-4) set up the winning points after quarterback Nick Marshall threw a 62-yard bomb that was tipped then caught by Rodriguez Coleman as Coleman lay on the ground.

“These guys never stopped believing,” said Garden City head coach Jeff Tatum. “Anytime you have a player like Nick Marshall, you’re never out of a ball game.”

Moments earlier Co-Lin (9-3) took a 29-28 lead as Chandler Rogers tossed a 33-yard touchdown pass to Bubba Keene with :41 left. Rogers, a sophomore from Brookhaven who earned his team’s MVP-Offense Award, threw four touchdown passes…one to Keene and three to Joe Craig. who was named the MACJC Miss. Bowl MVP.

“I kept telling our team that if they didn’t get down to business, we’d get our butts kicked,” said Wolves head coach Glenn Davis. “That’s what happened at the end. They made one more play than we did.”

Marshall, a sophomore from Pineview GA, showed why he was the Kansas Jayhawk Conference’s Player of the Year as he connected on several long pass plays and turned a broken play into a 63-yard touchdown run which gave his team a 21-17 lead in the opening moments of the third quarter. To no one’s surprise, Marshall garnered his team’s MVP-Offense Award.

Broncbuster running back Jamal Tyler scored on three touchdown runs from 12, 3, and 24 yards to provide his team the rest of its points. Garden City appeared to take a 35-23 lead in the fourth quarter when Broncbuster MVP-Defense Award winner D’Vonta Derricot picked off a Rogers pass and went 80 yards for a score. However the TD was nullified on an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty.

It’s the first time a non-MACJC college has won the Mississippi Bowl.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy