College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

No. 9 Lady Senators fall to No. 21 Georgia Highlands, 55-53
 November 25, 2012

DECATUR, Ga. – The ninth ranked Walters State Lady Senators suffered their first loss of the season Saturday, falling 55-53 to 21st ranked Georgia Highlands in a battle of unbeatens in the final day of the Georgia Perimeter College Thanksgiving Classic.

The Lady Senators (6-1) held a 32-23 lead at halftime but were unable to hold on against the Lady Chargers (7-0), who had two very close games in a row in the tournament.

Walters State held a 24-11 lead in the first half, but Georgia Highlands was able to stay in it and cut the deficit to single digits heading into the final 20 minutes.

The Lady Chargers cut the margin to 37-35 with 11:46 left in the game, but the Lady Senators were able to keep the lead until Georgia Highlands grabbed a 52-51 lead in the final 90 seconds of the game.

The Lady Chargers, who were 16 of 22 from the free throw line, made a free throw in the final seconds to take a 55-53 lead, and Walters State could not get off a good shot before the horn sounded.

Georgia Highlands finished the game shooting 40.9 percent (18 of 44) from the field, which included a 3 of 9 showing from long range. They committed 24 turnovers and grabbed 27 rebounds in the win.

Shakierya McClendon and Manon Cherubini had 15 points each in the victory, while Gabriella Kendall added nine for the Lady Chargers.

The Lady Senators shot 38.2 percent (21 of 55) from the floor in the contest, including 5 of 18 from long range. They missed on all nine shots from behind the 3-point line in the second half, and they committed 24 turnovers as well while grabbing 30 rebounds.

Aisjah Roan netted nine points to lead Walters State, while Bre Hall added eight and Caprisha Rogers had seven in the defeat.

The Lady Senators will be back in action Friday when they host Jackson State on Pride Night inside ‘Z’ Buda Gymnasium. Tipoff is set for 6 p.m.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy