College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

Williston State wins 2nd straight Hockey title; Beats Monroe CC 2-0
 February 23, 2014


TROY, N.Y. – Williston State (N.D.) won their second consecutive NJCAA Hockey Championship Sunday with a 2-0 win over Monroe CC (N.Y.) at Robert M. Conway Ice Rink.

Facing a Monroe CC team that hadn’t been shutout all season, Williston State held the Tribunes to just 13 shots in the title game. Tetons sophomore goalie and tournament MVP Tyler Ampe earned his second consecutive shutout of the tournament – holding
both of Williston State’s NJCAA championship opponents scoreless.

Tetons freshman forward Tyler Cavan scored the first goal of the game – assisted by freshmen forwards Eric Behrend and Cole Sonstebo – giving Williston State a 1-0 lead with 12:29 remaining in the first period. Williston State went up 2-0 at the 7:38 mark of the second period off freshman forward Trevor Hunt’s goal – assisted by sophomore forward Dario Torres.

The Tetons clinched the championship with a win over Monroe CC for the second
straight year. Williston State defeated the Tribunes 3-2 in the 2013 title game.

Williston State’s championship victory capped off their season with a record of 15-11-3. The Tribunes dropped to 22-2-1 after suffering only their second loss this season and first since November.

Williston State began their championship run with a 7-0 win over Erie (N.Y.) in Saturday’s semifinals. Sonstebo led the Tetons’ offensive effort with two goals and an assist. Ampe recorded seven saves in the shutout.

Joining Ampe on the all-tournament team were fellow Williston State teammates Cavan, Hunt and Sonstebo. The Tribunes rounded out the all-tournament selections with sophomore defensive man Taylor Weilert and freshman forward Dominik Gabaj.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy