College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

2013 Men's Soccer Hall of Fame class announced
 August 14, 2013


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - One contributor, two coaches and seven players, who have all impacted JUCO soccer, were announced Wednesday as the 2013 inductees to the NJCAA Men's Soccer Coaches Association Hall of Fame.  During the month of November, the ten inductees will be officially honored at the NJCAA Division I Soccer Banquet in Tyler, Texas, and the NJCAA Division III Soccer Banquet at Herkimer, New York.  They join 76 other coaches, contributors and players already named to the Hall of Fame. The 2013 Hall of Fame class includes:

Dr. Tim Drain has made numerous contributions to NJCAA soccer. As the athletic director of Tyler Junior College, he raised the standard of hosting the national soccer tournaments on his first attempt in 2000.  Since then, he has tirelessly given of himself to direct some of the most exciting tournaments in NJCAA history.  His continuous input and contributions continue to help the sport grow at the national level.  In 2013, he will be hosting his 11th national tournament in Tyler, Texas.

Pat McBride coached junior college soccer for twenty-five years. He coached St. Louis Community College at Meramec soccer teams from 1976 to 1981 and St. Louis Community College at Forest Park from 1987 to 2005.  He guided the 1976 Meramec team to the NJCAA National Championship and was named national coach of the year.  In addition, he was seven-time region coach of the year.  He later coached Major Indoor Soccer League teams in St. Louis and Kansas City.  As a player, he earned five caps with the United States National Team and played in the National Professional Soccer League and the North American Soccer League for a combined nine seasons.

David Cosgrove has played and coached at Pima Community College in Tucson, Arizona.  In 16 years of coaching, he has compiled an overall record of 227-85-22.  His Aztec teams have qualified for the national tournament in 1999 and 2011.  The 1999 squad were National Runners-up while the 2011 team finished fifth.  Past honors include NJCAA five-time region coach of the year and two-time NSCAA West District coach of the year.  As a player, he captained the 1988 Pima side to a national runner-up finish.

Kobah Washington led Yavapai College to two National Championship Game appearances in 1990 and 1991.  His 1990 team captured the school’s first of seven NJCAA National Soccer Championships.  He was named to the NJCAA National All-Tournament teams both his freshmen and sophomore years. An NSCAA All-American forward, he is the all-time leading post-season goal scorer in Yavapai College history with 14 playoff goals.  The Roughriders compiled an overall record of 43-2-1 in his two years with the Arizona school.  He also played at Grand Canyon University and on numerous professional sides’ pre-Major League Soccer.

Brad Wagner captained the 2000 NJCAA National Champions while starting at left back for Meridian Community College.  As a freshman, he led the Mississippi school to a national third place finish in 1999.  The Eagles were 45-4-1 during his junior college career.  He moved on to the University of Central Florida where he was also the team captain and named to the Atlantic Sun All-Conference team in 2002.

Josh Westermann was a two-time NJCAA National Champion while playing for Yavapai College during the 2002 and 2003 seasons when they compiled an overall record of 44-4-2.  He captained the Roughriders on their repeat run during his sophomore year while being named to the NJCAA National All-Tournament team. He completed his college career at Gonzaga University, starting in all matches and captained the team his senior season.  He helped lead Cleveland to a United Soccer League crown in 2008.  In addition, he played in the top South African and Kenyan professional league for three years. As the only white player in the Kenyan Premier League, he captained Nairobi City Stars.  He is currently coaching at San Diego Christian College.

Ryan Simms competed in two NJCAA National Tournaments as the starting goalkeeper for Meridian Community College. He was in goal for the schools only National Championship in 2000 and was named to the National All-Tournament team.  He stills holds all the goalkeeping records for the Eagles program.  He completed his college career at Birmingham Southern University.

Tim Kelly led Yavapai College to an overall record of 46-2-3 during his two seasons in 2005 and 2006.  He was named to both the NJCAA & NSCAA All-America teams in 2006.  After two national tournament appearances with the Roughriders, he continued his role as captain with Oregon State University in 2007 and 2008, where he started every match during his junior and senior years.  He was named First Team All-Pacific-10 while being honored as Scholar Athlete of the Year at Oregon State University.  

Damion Bennett was a key member of Herkimer County Community College back to back Division three National Championship teams in 1999 and 2000.  He captained the 2000 team to an undefeated season while being named to the NJCAA and NSCAA All-America teams.  He continued his education and started every match in his junior and senior seasons at Bowling Green State University in Ohio.  He was named captain his senior year for the Falcons.

Lee Baldwin made the National All-Tournament team in 1999 and was named to the NJCAA All-America team that same year while playing in the midfield for Meridian Community College. He is the all-time assist leader for the Mississippi program.  He moved on to North Carolina State University and was named to the Atlantic Coast All-Conference team in 2001.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy