College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

NJCAA Member Colleges, Athletic Directors and Student-Athletes Honored at 2013 NATYCAA and NACDA Conventions
 June 19, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The 2013 National Alliance of Two-Year College Athletic Administrators (NATYCAA) convention was held last week in Orlando, Fla., in conjunction with this year’s National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) seminar. NJCAA member colleges, athletic directors and student-athletes were honored for their contributions to intercollegiate athletics during several award ceremonies throughout the two conventions.

For the fifth consecutive year, Iowa Central Community College won the scholarship division of the NATYCAA Cup. In the non-scholarship division, Gloucester County College (N.J.) topped the standings for the fourth-straight season. Rankings in the NATYCAA Cup are formulated by awarding colleges points based on competition at NJCAA Championships.

Click here for final 2012-13 NATYCAA Cup Scholarship Division Standings

Click here for final 2012-13 NATYCAA Cup Non-Scholarship Division Standings

Iowa Central was led to the top again by the performance of its cross country and track and field teams. The ICCC women’s cross country team won the national title while the men’s and women’s indoor track teams both finished as the national runners-up. The outdoor track season was highlighted by a national championship by the ICCC women and a runner-up finish by the men. Photo (left to right): NJCAA Executive Director Mary Ellen Leicht, Gregg Haden of Iowa Central, ICCC Athletic Director Rick Sandquist and NATYCAA President Jim Forkum. NACDA Photo.

Gloucester won an astonishing five national championships this season to secure its fourth-straight NATYCAA Cup. The Roadrunners captured national titles in women’s tennis, men’s tennis, women’s cross country, women’s outdoor track and field and baseball. Photo (left to right): NJCAA Executive Director Mary Ellen Leicht, Gloucester Athletic Director Ron Case, Gloucester Asst. Athletic Director Brian Rowan and NATYCAA President Jim Forkum. NACDA Photo.

Gloucester County College
(N.J.) also received the highest honor an athletic program can receive from NACDA when they were honored as the 2012-13 recipient of the Learfield Sports Directors' Cup. Co-sponsored by USA Today, the Directors’ Cup has been awarded for 20 years. However, the award has just recently included two-year colleges. Gloucester narrowly defeated powerhouse Iowa Central Community College for the award. Last year, Santa Rosa College (Calif.) was the recipient. Other award winners this year included: Stanford University (Division I), Oklahoma Baptist University (NAIA), Grand Canyon University (Division II) and Williams College (Division III).

Click here for the final 2012-13 Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup Two-Year College Standings

Photo (left to right): Directors' Cup Committee Chair Terri Howes, Gloucester Athletic Director Ron Case and Greg Brown of Learfield Sports. NACDA Photo.  

As part of its annual convention, NACDA announced this year’s winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Awards. The award spans seven divisions (NCAA FBS, FCS; Division I-AAA, II, III, NAIA/Other Four-Year Institutions and Junior College/Community Colleges). Three athletic directors from NJCAA member colleges were honored with this prestigious award: Ron Case, Gloucester County College (N.J.); Randy Stange, Hutchinson Community College (Kan.); and Troy Tucker, Northampton Community College (Pa.).

Photo (left to right): Sean Sullivan of Under Armour, NATYCAA President Jim Forkum, Gloucester AD Ron Case, Northampton AD Troy Tucker and Hutchinson AD Randy Stange. NACDA Photo.

Former County College of Morris athletic director Jack Martin was a part of the 2013 class of the NACDA Hall of Fame. Martin was named the first director of athletics at the County College of Morris in 1968 and served in that position until his retirement in 2002.

He also served as the men’s basketball coach from 1968-98, capturing eight New Jersey state titles, three Region XIX Championships, numerous national tournament appearances, while also being named New Jersey Sports Writer Coach of the Year eight times. Currently, he is the winningest college basketball coach in New Jersey state history.

Martin developed a nationally recognized athletics program that produced 35 New Jersey State Championships, 29 Region XIX titles and the recognition of 85 athletic and academic All-Americans. He is a longtime member of both NACDA and NATYCAA and served on a variety of national committees during his tenure.

During his time on the NATYCAA Executive Committee, he helped secure Pepsi-Cola North America as the sponsor of the NATYCAA Cup, promoting program excellence at two-year colleges.

In addition to the NACDA Hall of Fame induction this year, Martin has also been inducted into the NJCAA Hall of Fame, his high school hall of fame and the NATYCAA Hall of Fame.

NATCYAA also announced the winners of the 2013 Scholar-Athlete Awards, sponsored by Kathy Polanshek and Carol Malouf.  Kristina Morgan of Gloucester County College (N.J.) was selected as the Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, while Matthew Whitlatch of Paradise Valley Community College (Ariz.) was chosen as the Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Read more about these awards here.

Photo (left to right): Kulwant Singh of De Anza College and 3rd VP of NATYCAA, award sponsor Carol Malouf, Gloucester Asst. AD Brian Rowan, Paradise Valley's Matthew Whitlatch and award sponsor Kathy Polanshek. NACDA photo.

At its annual awards luncheon, NATYCAA honored Carl Heinrich of Johnson County Community College (Kan.) with its L. William Miller Award. Also, Mary Mahan of Miami Dade College (Fla.) and Jack Martin of County College of Morris (N.J.) were inducted into the NATYCAA Hall of Fame.

Now in its 26th year, NATYCAA is the professional organization of two year college athletics administrators and membership is open to all two-year institutions throughout the country. For more information on NATYCAA, please visit www.natycaa.com.  NATYCAA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 48th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.  

About the NJCAA 
Since 1938 the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) has been the governing body of two-year college athletics, offering athletic and academic opportunities to college students. Now entering its 75th anniversary, the NJCAA is the second largest national intercollegiate athletic organization in the United States with over 500 member schools in 43 states. Each year 60,000 student-athletes compete in one of 28 different sports and the organization sponsors 48 national championship events and nine football bowl games. NJCAA Headquarters has been located in Colorado Springs, Colo., since 1985. For more information visit www.njcaa.org.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy