College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

Daytona State clinches third Women's Golf title in four years
 May 16, 2013


MESA, Ariz. – Claiming their sixth national championship in school history, Daytona State (Fla.) held off Redlands CC (Okla.) Thursday to win the 2013 NJCAA Women's Golf National Championship. Redlands sophomore Sarah Schober won her second consecutive individual crown with a two-over-par 290 at Longbow Golf Club.

Finishing the tournament with a 59-over-par 1,211, Daytona State beat out Redlands' 70-over-par 1,222. Daytona State came back from a two-stroke deficit to Redlands following a first round 15-over-par 303. After shooting a 17-over-par 305 in the second round, the Falcons stormed back in the third with a tournament-low 12-over-par 300. Another 303 on Thursday earned Daytona State their third national championship in four years.

Freshman So Young Hwang led the way for Daytona State with a six-over-par 294 – tying for second place. The Falcons finished three other golfers in the top 10, including freshman Mary Dawson and sophomores Erin Selfridge and Megan Garland. Selfridge took seventh place with a 16-over-par 304, while Dawson tied for eighth with an 18-over-par 306. Garland shot a 20-over-par 308 to finish in 10th and sophomore Callie Kitchens (326) rounded Daytona State out in a tie for 21st.

In the opening round, Schober made her mark with a tournament-low four-under-par 68. Schober carded a two-over-par 74 in the last three rounds to finish four strokes in front of Hwang, Seminole State (Fla.) freshman Chanya Angwarawong and McLennan CC (Texas) sophomore Rachael McQueen. Redlands freshman Lina Aguillon finished fifth with a nine-over-par 297.

Schober became the third women's golfer in NJCAA history to win back-to-back individual championships. The NJCAA has now seen its last three individual women's champions successfully defend their title including Dayonta State's Mitsuki Katahira (2010-11) and Redlands' Nicola Race (2008-09).

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy