College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

Onondaga Wins Fifth Men's Lacrosse Title; Sets Record with 70th Straight Win
 May 12, 2013


GARDEN CITY, N.Y. – For the fifth consecutive year, the national championship trophy in NJCAA men’s lacrosse belongs to Onondaga Community College (N.Y.). The Lazers defeated Nassau Community College (N.Y.) 15-11 in the national title game at NCC’s Mitchel Athletic Complex on Sunday, May 12th.

OCC is the first NJCAA program to win five straight national championships since Herkimer County Community College (N.Y.) accomplished the feat from 1992-96. Even more impressive, Onondaga (17-0) clinched its fifth national championship with an undefeated record for the third-consecutive year. The Lazers currently boast a 70-game winning streak, which is the longest ever at any level of collegiate lacrosse (NCAA and NJCAA).

Onondaga jumped out to a 4-0 lead through the first quarter and increased its lead to 8-1 before Nassau was able to outscore the Lazers 6-1 in the final three minutes of the half to make the score 9-7.

The contest remained tight for much of the third quarter before a Tim Barber found the back of the net with 4:08 left in the period. Three more OCC players scored in the period to outdistance Nassau 13-7.

Jordan Saunderson led the Lazers with six goals and one assist. Randy Staats tallied four goals and an assist. OCC goalie Warren Hill was named the defensive player of the game with 18 saves.

Ranked No. 1 the entire season, Onondaga defeated CCBC-Essex (Md.) 18-7 to advance to Sunday’s title game. Nassau defeated Genesee Community College (N.Y.) 15-6 in the semifinals.   

Photo courtesy of Nassau CC Athletics

All-Tournament Team
Blake Hurt, Genesee CC
Bobby Wheeler, Genesee CC
Tony Rossi, CCBC-Essex
Roberto Dennis, CCBC-Essex
John Brandofino, Nassau CC
Kevin Teresky, Nassau CC
James O'Boyle, Nassau CC
Luke Haggerty, Nassau CC
Brett Williams, Onondaga CC
Randy Staats, Onondaga CC
Quinn Powless, Onondaga CC
Ryan Vella, Onondaga CC

Steve Caravana Offensive MVP
Jordan Saunderson, Onondaga CC

Steve Caravana Defensive MVP
Warren Hill, Onondaga CC

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy