College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

Easton Releases NJCAA Defensive Player of the Year Awards
 June 14, 2011

COLORADO SPRINGS – Easton™ Baseball, in conjunction with the NJCAA, has named its annual NJCAA Defensive Player of the Year honorees for each respective division of NJCAA baseball.  

Bossier Parish Community College (La.) second baseman Taylor Pittman earns Easton™ NJCAA Division I Baseball Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Des Moines Area CC (Iowa) shortstop Blake Schmit is the Division II Defensive Player of the Year. Catcher Kyle Holland from Manchester Community College (Conn.) is the Division III Defensive Player of the Year.

Taylor Pittman logged 52 games this season, totaling 73 putouts and 120 assists primarily playing the second base position for Bossier Parish. The sophomore recorded a perfect 1.00 fielding percentage and did not commit an error this season. The defensive specialist also contributed offensively, batting .278 throughout the season with 40 hits, 23 runs, and 17 RBI’s. The Bossier City, La. native managed five doubles, seven steals, and eight walks in 144 at-bats as well.

Pittman was also named to the 2011 NJCAA DI Rawlings Gold Glove Award® Team for his stellar play this season.

Blake Schmit
, Des Moines Area’s shortstop, put together a .976 fielding percentage this season to go along with 55 putouts and 106 assists while committing just four errors. The freshman also contributed to 23 double plays on this season.

At the plate, Schmit went 51-for-147, posting a .347 batting average over 51 games and scored 33 runs and 25 RBI’s. He managed 12 doubles, a triple, a homer, and seven stolen bases as well. A .393 on-base percentage made him incredibly valuable in all facets of the game for the Bears.   

Additionally, Blake earned 2011 NJCAA DII Rawlings Gold Glove® honors.

Kyle Holland
, a freshman from Montville, Conn., helped defend his Cougars team by boasting a perfect 1.00 fielding percentage in 43 games this season. The 5’10” catcher collected 226 putouts and 29 assists without a single error recorded. Holland managed to throw out 17 of 28 (.607) base runners that attempted to steal and only surrendered three passed balls. He contributed to two double this season as well.

Offensively, Kyle proved to be a serious threat, going 44-for-141 at the plate for a .312 average. He posted 39 runs, 18 RBI’s, and 22 stolen bases. Seven of his hits this year went for extra bases.

Holland was named to the 2011 NJCAA DIII Rawlings Gold Glove® Team. 


Easton™ is the official bat supplier of NJCAA Baseball and has been awarding the top defensive player of the year in each of the NJCAA baseball divisions since 1992. For more information on Easton visit www.eastonsports.com

The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) is the governing body of two-year college athletics, offering endless athletic and academic opportunities to college students. It is the second largest national intercollegiate athletic organization in the United States with over 500 member schools in 43 states. Each year over 50,000 student-athletes compete in one of 28 different sports and the organization sponsors 48 national championship events and nine football bowl games each year. For more visit www.njcaa.org.

DI Easton Defensive Player of the Year Since 2004

2010 - Ivan Hartle, Iowa Western CC
2009 - Runey Davis, Howard College, Texas
2008 - Kris Miller, San Jacinto-North, Texas
2007 - Mike Mooney, Palm Beach CC, Fla.
2006 - Lee Fisher, South Suburban College, Ill.
2005 - Kyle Banks, Yavapai College, Ariz.
2004 - Carlos Ramos, Miami- Dade College, Fla.

DII Easton Defensive Player of the Year Since 2004
2010 - Jacob Fisher, LSU Eunice, La.
2009 - Tyler Falco, Glendale CC, Ariz.
2008 - Cory Brownsten, Monroe CC, N.Y.
2007 - Ben Wolgamot, Danville Area CC, Ill.
2006 - Joe Arminio, Brookdale CC, N.J.
2005 - Andy Rice, Itawamba CC, Miss.
2004 - MaΣ Marek, Iowa Central CC

DIII Easton Defensive Player of the Year Since 2004
2010 - AJ Lowers, Manchester CC, Conn.
2009 - Sean Jamison, Niagara County CC, N.Y.
2008 - Travis Graves, Eastfield College, Texas
2007 - Ryan Saldivar, Richland College, Texas
2006 - Vinny Johnson, Gloucester County College, N.J.
2005 - Seth BuΣon, Gloucester County College, N.J.
2004 - Cody Ellis, Tyler JC, Texas




© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy