College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

Athletes of Distinction

Lea Plarski Award
Adirondack's Jocelyn Fischer Receives Prestigious 2010 NJCAA Lea Plarski Award

By Gage Axford, NJCAA Student Assistant

The National Junior College Athletic Association is proud to announce Jocelyn Fischer of Adirondack Community College (N.Y.) as the winner of the 2009-2010 NJCAA Lea Plarski Award. The Plarski Award is handed out annually by the NJCAA to the student-athlete who exemplifies sportsmanship, leadership, and community service and academic excellence, coupled with athletic ability and achievement.

With her enthusiastic vigor, Fischer led Adirondack as captain of the women's tennis squad, while also contributing in several important roles in her community.

Fischer, inspired by her deep passion for helping others, is currently pursuing a degree in nursing, and thus far has exceeded regular responsibilities of most in the profession. 

While maintaining a 3.21 GPA, Fischer has found time to volunteer as a Critical-Care EMT with the Hague, N.Y., Volunteer Fire Department and Warrensburg, N.Y., EMS, while also taking firefighting training courses on the side. On top of that, Fischer took it upon herself to create her own training videos to help instruct fellow EMS staff members and students. In addition to her videos, she teaches EMT continuing education courses, is the webmaster of the HVFD website and regularly visits local schools to lecture about the dangers of drinking and driving. 

Outside of her commitments in the medical service community, Fischer has volunteered for the past seven years at the Silver Bay YMCA Conference Center and family camp giving tennis lessons, teaching weight training, first-aid courses, lifeguarding, and photography classes, while also helping with marketing and day-to-day operations. 

Her character and leadership on the tennis court is just as impressive. Fischer is described as an energetic, enthusiastic, and amicable individual who has an immense amount of dedication along with an incredible work ethic. It was these characteristics that guided Fischer to earn both All-Mountain Valley Conference and All-Region 3 honors in back-to-back seasons at Adirondack. She was the No. 1 singles and No. 2 doubles finalist the past two seasons in Region 3. Her ability and leadership helped guide Adirondack to its first undefeated regular season in school history in 2008-09.

Despite her busy schedule, the two-time Adirondack Female Athlete of the Year has also found time to showcase her great athleticism by running in two triathlons and by obtaining a Black Belt in Taekwondo. She also traveled to South Africa to study nursing through the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

Fischer, a NJCAA Distinguished Academic All-American in 2008-09, looks to continue to pursue her nursing degree.

The 2010 NJCAA Lea Plarski Award will be presented to Fischer at the Citizenship Through Sports Alliance (CTSA) 12th Annual AT&T National Sportsmanship Awards banquet, at a date and time that will be released in the upcoming weeks.

The CTSA is the largest coalition of professional and amateur athletics organizations in the United Stats focused on character in sports.

Tabbed the 'Most Inspiring Night in Sports', The National Sportsmanship Awards banquet honors the nation's top athletes and administrators who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship, citizenship, ethical conduct and community service. Award recipients represent the CTSA's member organizations, including the NCAA, NAIA, NJCAA, National Federation of State High School Associations, Major League Baseball and the National Hockey League.

Athletes that have been recognized at previous CTSA banquets include St. Louis Cardinal slugger and former NJCAA All-American Albert Pujols, New York Yankees pitcher A.J. Burnett, former Houston Astro Craig Biggio, Baseball Hall of Famer Tony Gwyn, Olympic Gold Medalist Shawn Crawford, NFL quarterback Marc Bulger, NBA veteran Grant Hill and many more.

For more information on the National Sportsmanship Awards visit www.nationalsportsmanshipawards.com.

Fischer (far right) is a volunteer firefighter, a Critical-Care EMT in addition to being an All-Region tennis player and NJCAA Distinguished Academic All-American.    





College; City, State


John Combs


Lees College; Jackson, Ky.

Amy Parker

Basketball/Slow Pitch Softball

Jones County Junior College ; Ellisville, Miss.


George Russell Sanders


Jones County Junior College ; Ellisville, Miss.

Amy Lucas


Middle Georgia College; Cochran, Ga.


Douglas Bates


Pensacola Junior College; Pensacola, Fla.

Terra Sarnacki-Royer

Cross Country/Track/Swimming

SUNY-Cobleskill; Cobleskill, N.Y.


Sarah Wood


St. Louis CCe-Meramec; St. Louis, Mo.


Larry Scheller


Belleville Area Community College; Belleville, Ill.


Mindy Madewell


Connors State College; Warner, Okla.


Jermaine Harris


Georgia Military College; Milledgeville, Ga.


Melanie Mendrop


Hinds Community College ; Raymond, Miss.


Theresa Berry


Bevill State CC-Fayette; Fayette Ala.


Kayla Shaul


Daytona Beach CC; Daytona Beach, Fla.


Patrick Lepper


John Wood Community College; Quincy, Ill.


Angela Verbeelen


Florida Community College; Jacksonville, Fla.


Christopher Glaze


Jones County Junior College ; Ellisville, Miss.


Geofrey Kalanzi


Dakota County Tech College; Rosemount, Minn.


Jocelyn Fischer


Adirondack Comm. College; Queensbury, N.Y.


© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy